UI Saxophone Studio Continues to Excel

University of Iowa Saxophone Ensemble

The University of Iowa Saxophone Studio under the direction of  Professor Kenneth Tse continues to collect accolades for outstanding musicianship!

Most recently, the  University of Iowa Saxophone Ensemble was selected to perform at the 64th Annual Midwest Orchestra and Band Clinic in Chicago. This rare and prestigious honor is bestowed on only the very best student ensembles in the country. The members of the saxophone ensemble are José Cabán-Zayas, Nathan Bogert, Kaelah Caldwell, John Hallberg, Cody Maranell, Stephen Page, Justin Rollefson, James Skretta, Ryan Smith, Michael van Heel, Tessa Welterlen, Calvin Wong and Colin Young,  The UI Saxophone Ensemble will perform Thursday, December 16, 2010 at 4 p.m. at McCormick Place West. A reception for School of Music alumni and friends will follow the concert at the Hyatt Conference Center adjacent to McCormick Place. Contact Jane Van Voorhis at the UI Foundation, jane-van-voorhis@uiowa.edu for more information on the reception.

In the past year, UI saxophone students also achieved unprecedented success at three different competitions throughout the U.S. Axius Quartet, a student saxophone ensemble in the University of Iowa School of Music, won the silver medal in the Senior Wind Division of the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, America’s most prestigious competition for chamber music ensembles. The final competition was May 9, 2010 at Notre Dame University. Founded in 1973, the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition has grown to become the largest chamber music competition in the world, and one of the most prestigious classical music prizes.

Axius, one of 48 ensembles from around the world invited to the Fischoff Competition, was also the national winner at the Music Teachers National Association Chamber Music Competition, and second-prize winner in the Quartet Competition of the North American Saxophone Alliance Biennial Conference. Also at the NASA conference, UI doctoral student Stephen Page won first prize and master’s student Nathan Bogert won second prize in the classical solo competition. Tse’s students won three of the top four awards in the conference’s classical competition, a first in the history of the conference.

The North American Saxophone Alliance is composed of performers, teachers, students, scholars and enthusiasts of the saxophone. Its mission is to provide resources for saxophonists at all levels of skill, of all ages and backgrounds, and of varied musical styles by disseminating information about saxophone performance and pedagogy, by providing opportunities for music making, by fostering and facilitating the creation of new repertoire, by providing a communication network and by promoting the musical activities of its members.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s